It’s rainy today and perhaps that is why my bones ache. No work because it is near the end of the quarter at the high school. I think it’s a perfect day for robins, gardens, sleeping and poetry. Today I am linking up with Imaginary Garden with Real Toads, one of my favorite sites to find poems by the blogging community.

On Aging – Poem by Maya Angelou

When you see me sitting quietly,
Like a sack left on the shelf,
Don’t think I need your chattering.
I’m listening to myself.
Hold! Stop! Don’t pity me!
Hold! Stop your sympathy!
Understanding if you got it,
Otherwise I’ll do without it!
When my bones are stiff and aching,
And my feet won’t climb the stair,
I will only ask one favor:
Don’t bring me no rocking chair.
When you see me walking, stumbling,
Don’t study and get it wrong.
‘Cause tired don’t mean lazy
And every goodbye ain’t gone.
I’m the same person I was back then,
A little less hair, a little less chin,
A lot less lungs and much less wind.
But ain’t I lucky I can still breathe in.

9 thoughts on “Rainy Tuesday Poem

Talk to Me!

