First, the poem in all its glory

Mine:

smile, inane mind
Boones warmed

air–

smell (of) gold glints
strong stubble and
warm pear

quarterback night
hot chocolate voice

His

From “The Hook Up (Game On #1)” by Kristen Callihan
Image by lufra

My Process:

A short passage from the story:

Disappointment is swift and sharp. I have zero interest in getting to know the star quarterback. Chest tight, I turn away and try to ignore him. Easier said than done.

Holy hell, he’s potent. Heat and vitality come off him in waves. I think I sway a bit. He is close enough that I notice the faint stubble along his strong chin and the glints of gold in his brown hair. He wears it cut short, and thick clusters of it spike along the top and front. It’s flattened a bit on one side as if he’d rolled out of bed and forgotten to brush it. But I doubt that was the case, because he smells fantastic—like warm pears and crisp air. I almost lean in for a better whiff, but manage to control myself.

I gape up at him, too shocked to even form a proper glare. And he squints back, that inane smile still in place, as if he’s waiting for me to answer. My mind is stuck on one thing.

His voice is dark chocolate on a hot summer night.”

Highlighted sentences written backwards, interesting words taken out:

thing one on stuck is mind my answer to me for waiting he’s if as place in still smile inane  that back squints he and air, crisp and pears warm like fantastic smells he because case the was that doubt I But hair brown his in gold glints the and chin strong his along stubble faint the notice I that enough close is he quarterback star the know to getting in interest zero have I Baylor night summer hot a on chocolate dark is voice, his 

 

 

4 thoughts on “When Told To Write a Romantic Poem: Bonus Issue

Talk to Me!

