Good morning friends!

Since it’s the weekend, I can get a bit fancier with my poetry. I decided to try an echo poem, found in my collection of poetry forms (started last April). While writing, I used near rhymes, similar sounding words and rhymes to create this poem.

I first learned about the echo poem through a poem, “Acceptance,” written by A Dash of Sunny. She is a very talented poet and her playful words never cease to inspire me.

Patience is not a roll of dice;
Echo: price
Race and you’ll miss the sights
Echo: bites

Eager for social praise;
Echo: craze
Another is faster to steal the prize
Echo: cries

In my head sounds a “clunk;”
Echo: funk
Clorox wipe away thought-junk
Echo: shrunk

Patience grows from breath
Echo: death
I move towards grace
Echo: pace

Photo Courtesy of Shane Clements

18 thoughts on ““Patience”

  1. This was a really cool form – definitely fascinating and I think you pulled this off really well. It has a very interesting flow – and the echoes form a repetition of sorts – that also act as breaks …. totally intriguing.

    Loved the ideas you created through this piece – well suited and complementary to each other. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. Ended up mindmapping the concept, taking the main ideas and listing all the rhymes, near rhymes for each word then working the poem out from there. Was quite the word puzzle 😀 Let me know when you write an echo poem. Would love to read it

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

