Happy Last-Weekend-of-the-Month to you all! If you are new here, welcome. Glad you could make it. Generally, I find the wackiest (but true) holidays to begin the weekend. Today is a first–not only is this holiday really celebrated, but it is part of a movement away from an unhealthy habit. I found a really cool link through Food.com that provides a few delicious ways to celebrate this holiday 😀 You can find these recipes here. Do you have any recipes to share with me?

So, I promised you all last weekend that I would come back from the beach loaded with pictures and stories to make up for my absence last week. (I can already feel the mounting pressure lol)

I do have a few of both to share with you all. Come on over and sit underneath our shade tree and enjoy some German-made iced coffee with me 🙂

 

We set our crab traps up around noon on a Friday. The heat of the day hadn’t hit quite yet and the pier was fairly deserted. You can use a number of things as bait, but we settled on chicken necks and bloodworms. About five hand lines were tied to the posts, marked so we knew which were ours. About twenty minutes in, we pulled up our lines and found a pufferfish tied up in our net! I had never seen one this close–I grew up in fresh lakewater country. He was all blown up like a beach ball with little spikes on the end. I was so excited that I had to show the other people around us what we found! After a few photo ops, we turned him loose again.

 

Later that afternoon, I was leaning against one of the posts just watching the water so my writer’s mind could get some exercise. Suddenly (I know that is bad writing form lol) it appeared that the ocean floor was moving! I watched in shock as a large stingray swam underneath the pier! I shouted in excitement and Shawn, my fiance, caught the very end of “the show.” Another animal I had only seen in pictures or the Discovery Channel. My mind was blown.

 

The heat of the day caught up to us around mid-noon, so the umbrella came out to give shade to his mother and grandmother who were also crabbing. Shawn started catching crab after crab–all in the span of a few minutes. We were underprepared for storing crabs, so we used a plastic bag first to store the crabs. That was replaced by an old cat litter bucket with a little water at the bottom and wet washcloths over the top to keep them alive.  It was a riot the way he would pull up a hand line and another person would grab a long-handled net to catch the crab.

Shawn and his daughter both came away from the first day with dark sunburns, but all of us were very happy. They ended up crabbing into the evening and night, when the crabs are most active.

Are you ready for some pictures? 😀 Thought so.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

If you want to learn a little more about the method we used to catch our beautiful Blue Crabs, check out this five minute video. It’s taped in Florida, but the method is the same.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by, I enjoy your company immensely. Don’t forget to tell Part-Time Monster and the rest of the Weekend Coffee gang hi for me. They always have really juicy gossip and stories.

Take care until we meet again.

  “May I write words more naked than flesh, stronger than bone, more resilient than sinew, sensitive than nerve.” – Sappho

6 thoughts on “#Weekend Coffee Share: Happy More Herbs, Less Salt Day!

  1. That crab looks like a monster! fantastic pictures, it must be so amazing to see wild creatures in real life. Last summer I was lucky enough to see dolphins surfing the waves with all the human surfers. Truly amazing. I’ve never tried crabbing, despite living next to the sea, might have to try it one day. Thank you for sharing your pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Dolphins would be quite the sight to see as well. I am from a small town in the Midwest and moved to the East Coast a year ago. I’m still in awe of all the beauty on this side of the US. Thank you for sharing your experiences with me

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We used to go crabbing when I was a teenager. It was a lot of fun, mostly because we got to stay up all night. The place we went crabbing was about an hour from home and we never got there until late, like midnight. We crabbed all night long then left when the sun was about to come up, stopping for breakfast and coffee before the drive home. Fun! That was a lifetime ago, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t tell my husband what you where doing, otherwise he would want to go. He loves to fish and set traps, used to do that for a living a very long time ago. Glad you had a great time. I love stingrays, they are breathtaking to watch, aren’t they? Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

