Good morning, my friends! How was your week? Mine was slow and resistance to complete my goals was very high. Then I remember that adorable turtle from Aesop’s Fables. You know–the reptilian who made a point to keep showing up step-by-step.

MY GOALS:

*Reading:

  • take time every day to read for pleasure.

I have been having trouble staying with my books lately. I’m in a reading slump or perhaps just picky. So I turned to poetry and a classic to fill that void 🙂 I am currently reading Blue Horses by Mary Oliver and The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson.

*Writing:

  • Participate in daily meditative writing
  • free-write for at least thirty minutes a day
  • practice writing with a clear plot, motivation and goal in mind

Last Thursday I created a spreadsheet to organize the sheer number of articles, videos and podcasts that come through my Inoreader. I use items off that list to assign myself certain ones throughout the week.

The result? I have been hitting the mark every week in meditative writing and free-writing. I still feel a good amount of resistance when it comes to writing exercises that focus on plot, motivation and goal. This past week, I completed these exercises three times during the week.

*Blogging:

  • Plan/ schedule posts a week ahead

I’ve been hitting the mark on this goal because it is so general lol. I was at the beach last weekend so I didn’t have that time to plan my posts as far ahead as I wanted to. On the bright side, each post is written at least one  day ahead of time. Yay!

 

*Connection:

  • Keep in consistent contact with communities I belong to

Trucking along here as well. It serves as a wonderful reminder to check my schedule for upcoming networking or supportive chats on Twitter 🙂

 

*Organization:

  • Check in with my goals on a daily basis and adjust smaller goals accordingly

I check my ROW goals twice a day. In the evening I use the goals to make sure I have covered each goal for tomorrow’s to-do list.

 

*Submissions:

  • 1 new submission each week.
    –Post account of rejections and acceptances

Still silent in my mailbox. I submitted a poem to Maudlin House, a literary magazine. Keep your fingers crossed 🙂

 

Looking forward to connecting with you so we can cheer each other on! New to ROW? You can find more information here.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Midweek #ROW Update: Slow and Steady Wins the Race?

Talk to Me!

