Good morning and/or afternoon!

I apologize for not having my post up early this morning. I was out all weekend long crabbing, fishing and relaxing by the shore. Self-care has never felt so good.

Today is a “free choice day” according to the list of questions on the Redefining Disability website–who am I to argue about that 😀

I watched a TED Talk last week that touched me deeply, so much so that I wanted to share a few thoughts with you all. The topic was about the “capes” all of us create to protect true essence. It is part of human nature to protect ourselves from attack and threats from the world. It is a harsh place; one that seems full of blood, violence and indifference.

It seems to me that it is no wonder so many people create their own identities. Changing from normal, everyday weakness and anonymity to someone who embodies an old phrase: Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me. Those words became my anthem into my early college years.

Expectations, social norms, appearance, diagnosis, social status, opinions! All very scary things, aren’t they?

What would happen if people told the truth when asked how they were doing today? I don’t know about you, but a million worries would bury me up to my ears. All invitations to Anxiety Attack Town. The world may experience the Apocalypse or worse yet, find me weak and vulnerable.

Symptoms may include, but not limited to: vulnerability, awareness, compassion, different points of view, connection and a huge case of the What-Ifs.

What are your thoughts on the topic?


Every Monday I answer a question about my disability from Redefining Disability, a creation of Rose b. Fischer. I do this in order to continue my healing process as well as  to do my part in facilitating  an open dialogue about disabilities. Thank you for listening. If you want to share your story, please join us!

10703649_698450106909934_5748967828193652976_n

3 thoughts on “Redefining Disability: We Don’t Need Anymore Superheroes

  1. I know full well what happens if I tell truth, when asked, “How are you?” It’s not good–people want to here, “Fine, great, couldn’t be better!” Self-protection became a way of life for me, early on–and I still have to polish up my shield frequently, if I foolishly allow myself to be vulnerable. The only places I can be truly authentic are in my writing//blog–and with God. Wishing you a good day–I love crab, by the way, but have never been crabbing!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

