Hello everyone!

I think it’s important to write every day through sprints, prompts and technique exercises. I came across an effective exercise about setting recently on Mary Robinette Kwol’s blog. Worked my way through and had a grand old time. I had so much fun so I repeated the exercise. This time I noticed that her instructions wanted the participant to condense responses down to three sentences.

I love challenges as you know. I put on my Mozart morning music and away I went! Didn’t fair as well this time. Enjoy 🙂

Who/What/Where Exercise

I. Original

Who: An anxious 68 year-old woman

What: A 30-year old murder case is resurrected

Where: The story begins in a psychiatric hospital

My thumb tore at cuticles as I told the in-patient psychiatrist who murdered my husband. Her smile reminded me of my dad’s old bear trap, razor teeth waiting for flesh. The police car showed up a quarter past one in the afternoon.


II. Different Setting

Who: An anxious 68 year-old woman

What: A 30-year old murder case is resurrected

Where: The story begins in a cemetery

She has placed daffodils across the marble stone for decades, but her nightmares remain. An envelope, covered with bright lipstick, is tucked into a bouquet of daffodils this year. Perhaps his wife will see them this time.


III. Different POV

Who: rebellious 70 year old woman

What: A 30-year old murder case is resurrected

Where: The story begins in a cemetery

Cleo cleared away the fall leaves from her husband’s gravestone. Underneath she found a lipstick stained note and his wedding ring. Daffodils, his favorite, were left in its place. Quickly she called her nephew, the city’s Chief Investigator.


IV. Different Situation 

Who: rebellious 70 year old woman

What: A pregnancy is announced

Where: The story begins in a cemetery

Magda’s skirts partially covered the marble stone that marked where her husband now lay. Leaning in, she whispered “You’re frozen sperm still work. We’re pregnant!”

Be sure to check out all four of her writing exercises/activities. They are all very good 🙂

Image courtesy of Pexels

Talk to Me!

