Happy Wednesday to you all! Second week in and I have already needed to adjust my goals to my changing needs. It’s been awhile since I’ve written goals 🙂 So here goes again…

My goals:

*Reading:

  • take time every day to read for pleasure.

 I did pretty well this week. I suffered from a migraine for the last few days that put a slight kibash on doing anything.

Current book: “The Witch Doctor’s Wife”  by Tamar Myers

*Writing:

  • Participate in daily meditative writing
  • free-write for at least thirty minutes a day
  • practice writing with a clear plot, motivation and goal in mind

Meditative writing is part of another goal set for a class I am taking. Morgan Dragonwillow has an awesome collection of meditative prompts paired with relaxing music. I really enjoy this part of my day.

Free-writing is accomplished through Twitter word sprints like SprintShack or old NaNoWriMo Write-In videos. NaNo has good prompts for strengthening characters, setting, dialogue, etc.

I’ve been using random generators and moral dilemmas to practice plot and developed characters. So far, so good.

*Blogging:

  • Plan/ schedule posts a week ahead

 Just completed my first week of themed posts on here, all written ahead of time. It’s a habit I would like to strengthen before school starts again.

*Connection:

  • Keep in consistent contact with communities I belong to

 I network on Twitter through various chats during the week including #createlounge and #storysocial. This past week I have participated in each one.

*Organization:

  • Check in with my goals on a daily basis and adjust smaller goals accordingly

I’ve used goal spreadsheets and Google calendar to work on goals. I missed a couple of days this weekend, but otherwise so far so good.

*Submissions:

  • 1 new submission each week.
    –Post account of rejections and acceptances

This week I subbed one of my poems to Vine Leaves, an online and print literary magazine. Wish me luck 🙂 No news on acceptances or rejections yet…

Overall, I met most of my goals this week. Interested in seeing how ROW works? Check us out on Twitter at #ROW80 or at their website.


“. . . I believe poetry is also a bridge between solitudes. At its best, it transports us — through the nonlinear and irresistible persuasion of music and metaphor — into a state of receptive empathy, the closest thing we can get to truly understanding what it’s like to see the world as someone else does, to live inside another’s skin. . . .” ~ Elizabeth Austen

10 thoughts on “ROW Weekly Check-In: Where I Tweak My Goals

  1. Best of luck on the submission! Great goals – I might have to borrow a couple of your methods. I like the way your goals are categorized and using Google calendar might be super helpful, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

