What barriers do you encounter in your daily life when it comes to disability?

Good afternoon everyone!

I can’t believe I have been participating in this challenge for twenty-six weeks now. Time sure flies 🙂

Today’s topic is very difficult for me to share with you because that would mean that I am not completely in control over my body. I know how that sounds. Like I am ignorant about brain chemistry, biology, genetics, spirituality… The possibilities are endless.

I am fascinated by neuroanatomy, study of the human brain. In theory, I can explain why certain chemicals and neurons in my brain don’t play well together. I know that depression and anxiety are genetic disorders. For me the space between clinical knowledge and my experience feels like a vast canyon, not from one neuron to the next.

  •    I carry Xanax in my purse at all times in the event of a random panic attack
  •   Depend on distraction during car rides lasting longer than an hour  so I don’t need to look for the      closest place to pull over.
  •    Cough often in an attempt to mask my need to release my anxiety through a vocal and/or body tic.

I will never be free from my neurological barriers. I recognize their faces and know their names. But here’s the kick butt part: Each time I stand face to face with them them and don’t retreat is a powerful victory for me.

The Takeaway?

Not one of us is free from barriers whether they are visible or not. It is necessary to look beyond those walls to find compassion. Compassion is the key needed to remove barriers between us.


Every Monday I answer a question about my disability from Redefining Disability, a creation of Rose b. Fischer. I do this in order to continue my healing process as well as  to do my part in facilitating  an open dialogue about disabilities. Thank you for listening. If you want to share your story, please join us!

10703649_698450106909934_5748967828193652976_n

2 thoughts on “Redefining Disabilities: Barriers

Talk to Me!

