What would you like the general public to know about your disabilities, disability in general, or any other relevant subject?

Happy Monday to all of you!

I’ve been participating in this challenge as a way to talk about subjects that have been swept underneath the proverbial rug for generations in my family. It’s the white elephant in the dirty kitchen among the packets of Ramen and fried bologna. Each succeeding generation has added another piece of the shroud to cover, conceal what must not be revealed.

For much of my life abnormality in mental health was only discussed within its theoretical boundaries. Something that happened to an abstract person outside of the Midwest. I was never allowed to peek behind the shroud to get to know that ancient elephant. This all lead me to believe that the red robes of mental disability had passed over our red duplex.

Turns out our steel locks and ramparts had crumbled letting not one but a multi colored herd of elephants. One by one the blankets and sheets fell away. There was no escape.

Today I wear my ivory coat outside my mind–words now kiss and caress each crack and abscess. My tics are invited to parties and walks through the park. The dark shadows now discussed and strategies are created so I can survive each tidal wave.

The Takeaway?

Be proud of the visible and “invisible” jigsaw pieces of you. Work on compassion when you drive to work, shop at your favorite stores, stroll around the peaceful park and when your sister calls out of the blue. That’s what I want the general public to know.


Every week I answer another question about my disability from Redefining Disability, a creation of Rose b. Fischer. I do this in order to continue my healing process as well as doing my part to create an open dialogue about disabilities. Thank you for listening. If you want to share your story, please join us!

10703649_698450106909934_5748967828193652976_n

Talk to Me!

