Good morning my friends!

I’m so happy to see you again! I really apologize for being absent lately. I’ve been busy, but also my focus has been reactionary for the last few weeks. Meaning that the daily events have seemed more important than focusing on why I react the way I do. It’s a vicious cycle and I tend to check out mentally when this happens.

Join me in my backyard under the awning for coffee today. As summer progresses, Nature and sunlight beg me to spend time with them. Who am I to refuse? 😀

Did you know that Sunday is What You Think Upon Grows Day? The originator of this maxim was thought to be a man named James Allen, a philosopher who lived in the late 19th century. He wrote quite a bit about how thought can manifest in physical and mental changes in the body. What I found interesting is how this maxim has been true in my experiences, even before I was conscious of it.

Most times I focus completely on what’s on my mental To-Do list and not what is going on in my mind or body. What James Allen suggests is to use that energy to focus inward to understand why you react the way you do in every day life. It takes quite a bit of energy to let go of what is going on all around me to learn more about who I am. It looks like quite a challenge, but then again I love a good challenge!

How about you, my friend? Do you tend to take into account your mind and body as you go about your day? What helps you refocus from negative reactionary thoughts to more productive ones?

Would you like another cup of coffee? If you like, we can sit together for a moment longer and just listen to the world in my backyard. When we done, I will send you on your way with some of my fresh garden herbs for you 🙂

Until next time, take care


After we are done chatting, stop on over at Part-Time Monster’s blog to see what everyone else is up to 😀

8 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: What You Think Upon Grows Day

  1. I hadn’t heard of James Allen, but I try to be aware of my body as much as possible. It is a great source of wisdom, often more so than the mind.

    Like

  2. Interesting, I just finished re-reading “As A Man Thinketh” by James Allen. You can find it free on Gutenburg.org There are some similiar thoughts in there. But I agree. I find that if I am positive and expect good things to happen, they usually do. I read another article where the author referred to the “Law of Attraction.” Their premise was that you tend to attract what you think. There is a lot that we don’t know about how the human body and mind work. Have a great week ahead!

    Liked by 2 people

Talk to Me!

