I’ve been here before the world was new
Different combinations, so many hues
In Modern English, I am “blue”
But in Middle English, fashionable “blewe”
I travel easy, bags incredibly light

Been all over the world and that’s not even
Half of it
Old High German, I was a political blao
Before I traveled to Old French
Threw out the “a” and “o”
Suddenly a svelte “bleu”

I share my nom de plume with Cousin Green
across Japan, Korea, Thailand
And the beautiful Lakota Sioux

So next time you see me in a blouse
Displayed on a shiny uniform
the poorest of poor
Or the brat next door

Call me Baby, Navy or Sky Blue
Never Lemon, Desire or Cafe Noir!


Linked to The Happy Amateur Weekly Wikem

Image by cityofmaribyrnong.com.au

7 thoughts on “Blue by Any Other Name…

  1. Ah, tiptoed through the terra firma – or rather the atmosphere – which science says has no color.
    Really we know better don’t we? (Or do we?)

    Thanks for stopping by my combined prompts of ‘Route Sixty-Six’ – only because there are supposed to be 66 shades.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this is great…SO many brilliant lines;smiled all the way through and instantly re-read! Thank-you for stopping by my ‘porch’:) (I also am a proud momma of girls:)

    Liked by 2 people

Talk to Me!

