Redefining Disability: Biggest Challenges

What are the biggest challenges that you face in regard to disability?

Happy Monday, my Friends!

How are you this morning? I hope that your coffee (tea, OJ, milk) is spectacular and that your Monday is better than the last one 🙂

Are you new to my blog? I invite you to read about my “invisible disability” here.

Today I will talk briefly about what I feel are my biggest challenges with depression and anxiety. I’ve lived side by side with depression and anxiety for most of my life, so some of my challenges in the past are now simply a fact of life. For example, I have had vocal and facial tics since childhood that would cause me to feel frustrated and embarrassed. They are a part of me and much of my friends and family accept them.

I think my biggest challenge right now is managing my anxiety, especially when I travel more than an hour outside of town. Now don’t get me wrong–I love to see and experience new places. We have been caving and gotten lost on two mountains in the past year. It was tons of fun.

What I mean is the car ride that is involved in order to get to those places. I can’t help the physical reaction when anxiety strikes while we are traveling along the highway. My chest gets really tight, throat feels like its closing and I get nauseous. It makes me feel powerless and very angry.

I travel regardless of this challenge, but it isn’t easy. Distractions such as music or movies are used as well as lying down and just breathing. It’s kind of a hit or miss situation–sometimes it works, other times not so much.

The takeaway? 

It’s important to identify those rough challenges and have a battle plan for when they rear their ugly head. Then let your friends and family know about those plans–be open. Yes, it is a risk. Just remember, you are never alone in your fight.


Every week I answer another question about my disability from Redefining Disability, a creation of Rose b. Fischer. I do this in order to continue my healing process as well as doing my part to create an open dialogue about mental illness. Thank you for listening. If you want to share your story, please join us!

3 thoughts on “Redefining Disability: Biggest Challenges

Talk to Me!

