It takes on many forms, my dark passenger
A whisper of smoke, a shadow, or even a necklace
Long and tenuous, it resides at the base of my neck
Extending out to the top of my skull
Like a studded collar or rusty chainlink

No need to whisper, the roots are deep and terminal
Silently it observes taking pictures, recording speech
Ready to strike at just. the. right. moment.

It twists sideways and slides down to the base
Of my neck and shoulders
Attention is locked, there is no escape
I must face darkness straight forward

‘See how she dresses and talks! What a waste in breath.’
What do you mean, I answer, turning my head slightly to look

‘Go over there and push her, just a little. She’s not like you. In fact, I know she hates your kind.’
How do you know this? Have you spoken to her?

‘I can hear her thoughts. She’s going to do something nasty unless you put her
In her place. Go. Now.’

I hesitate waiting for my divine passenger to surface.

unnamed (2)

I can always count on Mindlovemisery Menagerie to deliver mind-probing prompts of the strange variety. Today I was challenged to describe either my divine or dark passenger, i.e. the “angel” or “devil” on my shoulders. Description and dialogue recommended.

I said to myself, bring it on! 😀 Interested in trying it on for size?

Image by Alma De Poeta

9 thoughts on “The Eternal Passengers

  1. As you saw I didn’t want to get too personal. I like the line you took. That internal speech that can get us into trouble when we don’t listen to our intuition. 😉
    The only ones we really have to push are ourselves into liking who we are!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

