Good morning and welcome to another Monday 🙂 I want to wish all my friends who are mothers a (slightly) belated Happy Mother’s Day. I hope you were able to relax, perhaps dress up for a luncheon, or even just sleep in. I firmly believe Moms need to take it easy too!

I spent yesterday with my boyfriend’s mother running some errands and doing some of that “bonding” stuff 🙂 As a result, I fell off the edge of the blogosphere yesterday. I didn’t mind a little break but I’m back today.

Today’s topic is about baselines, or how a typical day is for me living with depression and anxiety. I’ve been experiencing many of these days as of late–a huge relief for me after living in survival mode for many years. It’s hard to find a baseline when you are riding a roller coaster in your mind. I am now able to identify a baseline along with “good” and “bad days. What an amazing thing to be able to do!

On most days, I am tired because of my medications. My anxiety seems to sleep and depression has been attached to its leash once again. Stories appear on my fingertips and live in my dreams. I can focus better and organization becomes an (almost) pleasant task. Checklists are made and many are checked off with a triumphant mark.

Last week I told you about the DBT book we purchased recently. Currently I am learning about deep relaxation techniques and have rediscovered mindful meditation. I find it to be an easy way to flush out my worries and negativeness and to learn how to be. It’s almost like an auditory reset button.

The takeaway?

It’s important to keep moving forward moment by moment–even if they are snail steps. Actively search for those opportunities to find peace on a daily basis, even on the most chaotic of days. Take care and we will see each other again soon.


Every week I answer another question about my disability from Redefining Disability, a creation of Rose b. Fischer. I do this in order to continue my healing process as well as doing my part to create an open dialogue about mental illness. Thank you for listening. If you want to share your story, please join us!

Talk to Me!

