Good morning Friends 🙂

Let’s go out and find a cozy coffee shop somewhere for our cup this morning. On Wednesday, my boyfriend’s relatives came to visit as well as to install a new kitchen floor for us. The house is quite full and there is no such thing as a quiet corner anywhere. The sky is slightly grey but warm enough that we shouldn’t need more than a light sweater. Perhaps we will even find a place that sells guilt-free tasty things 🙂

Did you know today is World Fair Trade Day? I didn’t until I went to look for an unusual holiday to share with you. I think it’s a great idea, too bad it hasn’t made its way to the calendar yet. Perhaps one day it will be as big as Mother’s Day or Valentine’s Day. The world could certainly use it.

How was your week? Mine went by in another flash. If I sit very still I can remember little shreds of the week. I worked a lot in the school district trying to earn as much money as possible before the end of the school year. Is it normal for school to extend into the middle of June? Coming from the Midwest, there are so many concepts and routines to get used to still.

I belong to a writer’s critique group, the Femme Fatales, within a larger community called Scribophile. Have you heard of it? We work very well together in our own little corner of a huge community of writers of all shapes, sizes and obsessions. Lately I have been writing short stories based on prompts taken from all over the blogging community. Some get past the first 100 words to become a submitted piece for my group to review.

The other kinda cool thing I discovered this week was a whole community of short Tweet stories, poems, thoughts, etc. There is a prompt site called Semper Sum that has categorized each hashtag prompt by day of the week. So you would be able to join others for #haikuchallenge today and #xass  tomorrow. There are a vast number more of hashtag challenges on the site. Check it out if you are interested.

Do you write short stories or Tweetpoems? Feel free to share your tweetables and we can learn a little something from each other 🙂

Well, my friend, I think one cup of coffee is good enough for today. I just started a new medication last night and I am still rather sleepy. I always look forward to our visits.

Take care 😀


Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part-Time Monster as a way for bloggers to catch up with each other on a weekly basis as well as meet new people and their blogs. Come join us 🙂

9 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Happy World Fair Trade Day

  1. I didn’t realize that there was such a day, i.e., World Fair Trade Day: that’s cool! And yes, I hope it gets to become much bigger, soon! 😉 Seems like you have discovered some interesting writing opportunities. I recently started writing short pieces of fiction, primarily based on either a word, short phrase, sentence or photo prompt on ‘Wordless Wednesdays.’ Check out my latest here – http://www.xpressyouressence.blogspot.ca/2015/05/wordy-wednesday-footprints.html and there is one that became one of my most “Popular Posts” called “Shadows of Silence.” Enjoy and I imagine I will come across some of yours too. 😉 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a huge fan of flash fiction. I’m actually in the midst of writing a short story each day this month. I’ve not tried tweeting short stories or poetry, but I’ve seen others do it successfully. Thanks for the coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the links. I think I’ll be checking them out soon. I was just thinking the other day that I miss writing 100 word stories. I had the thought that I might work on some and see if I can’t put together 100 of them and put them in an ebook. That would let me try out the Kindle publishing thingy. I might just do that.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It’s always great to have handy people in a family! My hubby can literally do anything! Mechanics, carpentry, heavy equipment, pipefitting, plumbing. Unfortunately, he can’t do very much of those things any more like he could. He’s disabled. But still a well of information! I’m not into writing, just blogging. I do enjoy occasionally reading a good short story. I do most of my book reading on breaks at work. It gets my head out of the office and makes my breaks more refreshing!
    Posted my first #WeekendCoffeeShare at Life & Faith in Caneyhead!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for taking me out for coffee, I don’t go out much at the moment, so that’s always a great change.
    I am not on twitter (yet), so I do not tweet poems, but my blog is getting more and more cluttered with short stories, as I have taken a liking to writing those.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

