Good morning, my Friends!

Just a quick note about my poem. Now that we are almost done with both NaPoWriMo AND A to Z Challenge, I have found courage to change a few things up 😀

I wrote a really awkward poem last night in an attempt to copy today’s poetry form: the yama. I was inspired to write a few lines about my experiences growing up between several states, multiple worlds. It was a difficult period in my life and my poem below showed it. The rhythm is clunky and doesn’t flow well in your mouth as it is read.

But this morning at 4 a.m. I realized why I had written it this way and why it couldn’t be written any other way. The Yama is a poetic form about death and loss and I feel that way about my childhood for many reasons. Death is almost never smooth or full of smooth rhythms. So why should my poem be anything other than what it is?

Have a beautiful luminous day, my Friends 😀

Yesterfang:

That which was captured or caught on the previous day or former occasion; a previous day’s catch.

 

Sled down Suicide Hill
Steel runners, steering gone
Flashlight tag, what a thrill
Perfect bike body flip

Back in Yesterfang

Potato guns over parking lot
Magic: the Gathering
Tootsie Rolls: $1, hundred bought
Freedom over railroad bridge

Where is Yesterfang?

 

Yama: named for the Hindi god of death and is:

  • syllabic, written in 6 syllable lines.
  • stanzaic, written in any number of quatrains.
  • a poem of death, grief or sorrow. It can be expanded to include simply a poem of loss. (even of a season)

 

Word of the Day: Wordnik

Poetry Form: Poetry Magnum Opus

Image by Deposit Photos 

 

 

Talk to Me!

