Good morning, my Friends!

Happy Monday morning 😀 I hope the weekend left you in mostly whole pieces. Today I will talk about what I define as a “good day” in relation to my depression and anxiety.

I had to think about how I wanted to approach this question, and I still don’t know how to answer it. That is a revelation in itself for me.

Most days I can feel my opponent within my bones slowly eating away at the soft parts. I have been “playing defense” as it were for most of my life. Makes it difficult to rest and enjoy those days, or even each good moment. But I’m working on it.

If I had to quantify “a good day” it would be those times where I was free of the weight of anxiety. I can allow my mind to wander and fully take in my experiences. Depression’s shadow is nowhere to be seen and I feel like a kid again. My Muse is right beside me and we are on good terms. I fully accept who I am. That’s a good day.

The takeaway?

Don’t be afraid of embracing each “good” moment, whatever that means to you. Learn to smile into the lurking shadows and refuse to let go of each shiny, beautiful moment. Develop a way to go in search of those good moments when you feel the shadows come at you.

Take care my Friends 😀


Every week I answer another question about my disability from Redefining Disability, a creation of Rose b. Fischer. I do this in order to continue my healing process as well as doing my part to create an open dialogue about mental illness. Thank you for listening. If you want to share your story, please join us!

Talk to Me!

