Verbile: A person whose mental imagery consists of words

Vignette: a short, descriptive essay or sketch that comprises of one to two impressionistic scenes or moments. It does not conform to any specific plot, structure, clear beginning, middle or even an ending.

 

Days

by Ralph Waldo Emerson

Daughters of Time, the hypocritic Days,
Muffled and dumb like barefoot dervishes,
And marching single in an endless file,
Bring diadems and fagots in their hands.
To each they offer gifts after his will,
Bread, kingdoms, stars, and sky that holds them all.
I, in my pleached garden, watched the pomp,
Forgot my morning wishes, hastily
Took a few herbs and apples, and the Day
Turned and departed silent. I, too late,
Under her solemn fillet saw the scorn.”

 

My Turn!

A Delivery

Bell rings, day at an end
Weave through sea of middle school
Fresh air greets me at the door,
professional melts off me.

Small cardboard box greeting
Container of ancient memory
Time capsule threads

Simple chemical reactions
Study of light spectrum is my
Conduit to an ancient life

Turn of her head, delicate crafted eyes
Mirrored in my own
I’ve got her smile

Two books accompany her images
One safeguards symbol of finality
We are reunited through a delivery

In Memory of my Grandmother
(b. 1917, d. 2001)

 

 

 


Word of the Day: The Jacana

Poetry Form: Storyacious

“Rains” Poem found at Poetry Magnum Opus

Image by Julie Paschkis

 

Talk to Me!

