Good morning to you, my Friends!

If you are new to my blog, I first would like to say welcome 😀 Take a load off and stay for a moment or longer if you feel like it.

Back in February, I began a self-directed challenge which put a tiny spotlight on my disability–depression and severe anxiety. I have helped so many people over the years who have struggled with different disabilities, but I had never focused on my own needs and challenges.

I graduated college with a Bachelors in Speech Pathology and was bent on practicing in that field up until life intervened and sent me in a different direction. Almost nine months ago, I had the opportunity to travel with a friend from the Midwest to the East Coast. Now I am a substitute teacher for a district in Maryland and I stay really busy. But what does this have to do with disability?

My move across the country and all that has happened to me since then is the direct result of focusing on my own needs to go beyond a diagnosis and its implications. In other words, I have exceeded my own expectations.

Just a few years ago, I could not travel longer than across town much less across several states. My depression and anxiety had locked me out of living and I felt helpless. I wasn’t writing, had no place to call home, or a support system.

But regardless of my past, here I am today blogging alongside an incredible community of creative people from all over the world, teaching the next generation of leaders, and living somewhere other than the Midwest 😀

Understand, my Friends, that I will always struggle with my mental illnesses–they have a way to keep me on my toes from moment to moment. But man, I am thankful for this open door of possibilities!

Every Monday I post my answers to questions that originate from Rose B. Fischer’s blog. If this challenge piques your interest, let me know if you decide to participate. I find it much easier to work through a challenge if you have someone to do it with.

Have a beautiful day 😀

10 thoughts on “Redefining Disability Challenge: Free Post Day #1

      1. I’m obsessed with dialects and what language shows you about a person. But it ended up being too much science and too concrete, I want a more flexible field of study.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hear ya. Any ideas how you want to connect your passion and knowledge? I ended up in special education because it was a mixture of passion and doing something to help prepare the next generation

        Like

Talk to Me!

