My Name is Rose, I’m a Writer…

Bedtime by nine sharp every night
Rest of the house stirs when I turn off the light
Meeting with Muse, can’t be late
She refuses to wait
-cause I’m a writer

Bag full of pencil, books and tablet
Lag on computer, panic starts to rise
Song in ear, my world transforms
So long, fade into walls
-’cause I’m a writer

Close friends are my critique group
“Sub out”, magical realism and Duotrope–
Words in our lingua franca
Sometimes we even share a tanka
-’cause they’re writers

Style, voice, transition and prompt
Compile as I expand my art
Advice crowds in tight
Entice! Market price!
-Are they writers?

Before you decide that writing is a useless art
Found scattered about, dime a dozen
Remember: anger us and you will end up in our stories
-’cause we’re writers!

cropped-grunge-landscape2

Today B&P’s Shardoma and Beyond challenges us to write an invented poetical form–the Group Effect:

It’s 5 four line stanzas…with an added fifth Haiku type 5 syllable line at the end of each quatrain similar to the Haiku “cutting phrase”, the fifth four line stanza, at the end of the poem is in free verse. Outside of the last 5 syllable line in each stanza there is no set meter or syllable count.
The rhyming pattern is particular: aabbc aabbc aabbc aabbc abcd, but the first and third stanzas rhyme on the last word – the second and the fourth stanzas rhyme on the first word, “the cutting phrases and the last 4 line stanza have no rhymes the last stanza being completely in free verse.

Image by CandleBrightCreation

napo2015button1

10 thoughts on “I’m a Writer: A “Group Effect” Poem

  1. Oh gosh! … its like words flying out of my mouth! This is superb! I can totally relate to this 😀

    Bag full of pencil, books and tablet
    Lag on computer, panic starts to rise
    Song in ear, my world transforms
    So long, fade into walls
    -’cause I’m a writer

    Damn right we are! 😀
    Cheers!!
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

