Ostentiferous: Bringing omens or unnatural or supernatural manifestations.
Ottava Rima
Originally an Italian stanza of eight 11-syllable lines, with a rhyme scheme of ABABABCC. Sir Thomas Wyatt introduced the form in English, and Lord Byron adapted it to a 10-syllable line for his mock-epic Don Juan.

 

“Chivalry”

By Vince Suzadail Jr

If I could travel back in time I would
Return to the great age of chivalry
To meet Sir Lancelot and Robin Hood
In Merry Old England is where I’d be
I would raise my sword for all that is good
And kiss the hand of my fair lady
To scale the castle wall with the moon above
Just to spend a nigh in the arms of my love

 


Word of the Day by Project Twins

Poetic Form by Poetry Foundation

Image  titled “Silent Threats” by Andrew Paranavitana

 

 

Talk to Me!

