Good morning friends and Happy Slow Art Day 😀 Relax–and smell the pollen if you can lol. If you are one of the lucky ones who aren’t affected by allergies, I am so jealous.

Would you like a cup of freshly ground coffee? I look forward to weekends so we can get together and share our glories and tragedies of this past week. Spending time with you helps me to reconnect and refocus in preparation for another looming Monday 😀

Truthfully, this past week has been a big blur for me. We visited the Blue Ridge Mountains for Easter Break and I was back at work by Tuesday morning. Substitute teaching has been an interesting exercise in creativity for me. I have been learning new ways to distract older students ( I may have let eighth graders play a modern version of Silent Ball  during last period) as well as new ways to relieve stress.

I’m still getting up around 5am during the work week so I can cram in some writing time, which helps me relax and prepare for the day. Lately I have been experimenting with poetry form by simultaneously studying it in the traditional sense as well as at the extreme end of the spectrum. Why? Because it makes me feel happy and keeps my Muse from wandering away too far.

I still have a WIP (Writing in Progress) called “Jolly Rancher Dreams”. It is about a girl named Anne who becomes increasingly obsessed with the collection of candy wrappers by selling them black market style. She recently met a woman who may make her wildest dreams come true through a “dream job.” Whether or not there is a price to pay is still to be seen…

I’m letting the story germinate at the moment by absorbing as much as I can from each experience I have on a daily basis. On Thursday, I realized one of my dreams by seeing the cherry blossoms bloom in person. We took a very, very expensive trip via Metro to downtown Washington D.C. to take in as much of the moments as we could. The result? Lots of pictures 😀

Wanna see them?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope each of you are able to slow down a bit this weekend. Take the time to get outside and away from your screens (I’ll try to take my own advice lol) Take care, dear Friends. Don’t forget to pop over to #WeekendCoffeeShare and say hi to the other Weekend Warriors.

9 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Happy Slow Art Day!

Talk to Me!

