Word of the Day

kakorrhaphiophobia
n. – fear of failure

 

Poetry Form

Kyrielle

A Kyrielle is a French form of rhyming poetry written in quatrains (a stanza consisting of 4 lines), and each quatrain contains a repeating line or phrase as a refrain (usually appearing as the last line of each stanza). Each line within the poem consists of only eight syllables. There is no limit to the amount of stanzas a Kyrielle may have, but three is considered the accepted minimum.

 

Helpless
by Joe Flach

Helpless Doctors make their routine rounds each day
Well-meaning zealots come in the room to pray
I sit here sharing tears with you
I wish there was more that I could do

To fight the cancer, they can do no more
Your body has lost this hard-fought war
There is no other course we can pursue
I wish there was more that I could do

You are far too young to leave this world
How can I carry on without my girl
I would do anything to help pull you through
I wish there was more that I could do

I watched you release your last breath
No miracles were left to ward off death
One last kiss before the final adieu
I wish there was more that I could do

by Joe Flach

For You

When the world ceases to make sense
Sadness and anger grow immense
Do not ever give up, my girl
I will never stop loving you

Do not listen when people say
I forgot you, my lovely fey
Blue eyes and each angelic curl
I will never stop loving you


 

Word of the Day by Voxy

Poem Form by Gym Art

Poem Example “Helpless” by Joe Flach

Photo by Rose Ketring

2 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: Kakorrhaphiophobia and Kyrielle

Talk to Me!

