It was not Death
for I stood up everything that ticked has stopped
It was not Death
for I could not breathe without a key
It was not Autumn
For I felt Siroccos crawl
It was not Midnight
For Noon bells put out their tongues

napo2015button1


Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt:

Find an Emily Dickinson poem – preferably one you’ve never previously read – and take out all the dashes and line breaks. Make it just one big block of prose. Now, rebreak the lines. Add words where you want. Take out some words. Make your own poem out of it.

I chose Emily Dickinson’s “It was not Death, for I stood up” as my inspiration.

Photo by Rose Ketring (me!)

Talk to Me!

