So here we are, dear Readers–the day has finally arrived for the debut of my first year participating in the A to Z  Blog Challenge. Man, am I terrified and excited!

I will be posting a different letter of the alphabet for the next 26 days and each post will be in two (short) parts:

  1. an unusual word or phrase beginning with the day’s letter
  2. a form of poetry
    • definition,
    • example
    • my humble attempts 🙂

 

Today’s letter is A

 

Word of the Dayavenoir – n. the desire that memory could flow backward
We take it for granted that life moves forward. But you move as a rower moves, facing backwards: you can see where you’ve been, but not where you’re going.

 

Poetry Form: Awdl

An awdl is a Welsh ode. The first 4 lines are the hir, and the last two are the toddaid (which mutates to thoddaid when you put the phrase together, due to the endearing pecularities of the Welsh language). The hir can have 2 lines or 6, rather than the 4 used here, but all its lines must always rhyme together.

Each line has 10 syllables – in no particular metre.  All lines of each stanza, except for the penultimate one, rhyme together in the conventional way. The penultimate line rhymes with them all in an unconventional way – its seventh, eighth or ninth syllable contains the rhyme.

An Example!

Lovesick

I take back what I said about your knees –
They hardly knock at all. Forgive me, please.
My meaning and my words are chalk and cheese.
I love to cuddle you. You’re not obese.
I have caught a rare disease of the heart
When I see you I start to want to sneeze.

 Mine!

If..

If you didn’t grow older but regress
Aging younger, adding more time not less
Memory would lengthen and not compress
Would you put on your favorite cocktail dress
Send letters by pony express to me
Sing me lullabies as my life grows less

 


Credits:

Word of the Day by Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows

Poem: Lovesick by Bob Newman

Image by: Avenoir Mag

 

13 thoughts on “A to Z Blog Challenge Day One: Welcome!

  1. Awesome! Thanks for sharing. I’m looking forward to learning many new things during the A-to-Z challenge. This is my first year to participate. Love all the new blogs and information that I’m finding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, Welsh poetry form awdl another new one 🙂 well done, excellent poem very well constructed. What a fantastic word is – there’s two new things I’ve learnt today, thank you for sharing. Fab post for today’s letter A 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

