Mary Oliver inspired me to write the following:

When I was young, I was taught to rely upon a rosary
Praying to saints according to immediate need
Honor thy Father and Mother
Make them proud in everything you do

In my junior year I was taught Religion
By a man who was Baptist and had lost his wife
To another woman
He spoke of End Times and Rapture

When my daughter, angel in white and flowers,
Walked down the church aisle for First Communion
I wanted to take part in the celebration too
My mother pulled me back

“You haven’t gone to Confession lately so you can’t eat the Body of Christ.
I won’t let you burn in Hell”

So I sat down
Sadness is so hard to swallow


Today’s prompt at Mindlovesmisery Menagerie features poetry by Anne Sexton. All are invited to write in response to Anne Sexton’s poems or any poet that inspires, moves or demands your Muse to create. Me? I am in love with Mary Oliver’s poem “The Journey.”

Photo by carorendonblog.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Mindlovemisery Prompt #100: Mary Oliver “The Journey”

  1. The power of a parent and their teachings even if we are an adult. We’re left with the feeling that they know best despite having free will. A treasured moments lost but you’ve captured the sadness beautifully. Now, it’s the time to let go and set it free.
    Lovely words … and … a touching video. Thank you for introducing me to Mary Oliver. I’m sure I’ll be one of her fans too. ❤
    Isadora

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If it is true I am sorry too .I am pleased I read this poem. It has clarifed a situation I suspected for a long time. …that the tenets of Catholicism appear to vary according to the country you live in. Interesting poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

