Bloggiesta Update Day Three: Another One Bites It

Good Evening dear Readers

I have conquered a few more items on my list:

  • Organize my flash fiction and poetry so it is easily searchable
  • Finish (or continue?) working on my “About Me,” “Announcements,” and “Best Of” pages
  • Consider other page designs that may facilitate my overall goals
  • Learn how to increase my online presence
  • Complete at least two mini-challenges
  • Attend at least one Twitter party during the event

Today’s #Bloggiesta twitter event topic of  discussion was about the various Display options and together we came up with a few Do and Dont’s.

COME JOIN ME FOR TOMORROW’S TWITTER CHAT ON Thursday March 26th at 9 p.m. Eastern for REVIEWS and Other Content Ideas(guest hosted by guest hosted by Jessica from The Bluestocking Society)
  DON’T FORGET TO USE #BLOGGIESTA 🙂

Image by www.cbsaltitudegroup.com

11 thoughts on “Bloggiesta Update Day Three: Another One Bites It

  1. Like you I just changed my blog theme yesterday in light of some of the comments from the twitter chat (& my own opinions about what I like & don’t like when I vist other blogs).

    I love your minimalist look and the soothing background colour, but like the others before I had to search hard to find the comments button and I nearly gave up.

    Even though I like the minimalist look, I do also like to see some basic info on a sidebar. It’s usually how I discover new readalongs and challenges. I also like to see a currently reading or just finished list so I can quickly see if we like similar books or not 🙂

    Good luck with the tweeking – it’s looking fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Brittany, I’m here to give you feedback on your blog 🙂 It’s always so hard to give people feedback because different people like different things. So take what I suggest with a grain of salt.

    I think the background color of your site is very bright. It almost hurts my eyes to look at it. If I were on my phone and had the brightness turned down, ti would probably look totally different but on my laptop, that’s how I feel. I’m old now LOL and reading white text on a darker background is straining to me, but that’s just my opinion.

    I kow a lot of people love lots of info in their sidebars and you don’t have one! That is great and I love the minimalist look. I’m wondering if I could do something like that! But I want to find more information about you and that’s not readily available, so I would prefer to see a footer rather than infinite scroll.

    After saying all of that–I realize you have a popout sidebar! I totally missed that at first because it blends so well into the background. Now, looking at that, I see all of the wordpress icons that link to where I normally would expect to see social media icons, followed by your menu. I think that’s kind of redundant and I would change out those wordpress icons for social media. Like the others, I found it hard to figure out how to leave a comment and if I hadn’t been wanting to leave one specifically, I would not have kept looking–I would have thought just liking the post was all you wanted.

    I love the share icons on your posts and love the way your posts are set up. I love that your fonts are not too small and easy to read. You have a great blog, keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve had a few people with the same concerns. I just switched my theme last night so I am still settling in. I’ll tinker with it tomorrow with your suggestions in mind and see what I can come up with. Thank you for your time. I really appreciate the feedback. On the upside, I reorganized my poetry into a category and added a couple kinda neat galleries in my “About Me” and “Meme Challenges” pages.

      Like

  3. Seems like you are doing great!!! I like the layout, it’s so different! I admit I was having a little bit of problem to find how to comments hehe but it looks really original!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi! I’m new to your blog, so I can’t compare with your old layout, but this is very clean and sharp, I like it! I’ve been thinking about changing mine, but I never get around to doing it, maybe I will this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow! and you’ve changed your theme! I like the wider layout. I’ve not seen the Scrawl theme before but it’s similar to one or two others I’ve tried – although I always enjoyed my visits with your previous theme this one looks really slick and smooth; I’ve just tried your category menu and found some posts I’d somehow missed before – maybe because I’m easily distracted and there were lots of things going on around the sides. Well done with tackling so many of your goals 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Talk to Me!

