coffee2 (1)

Good morning, Dear Readers! I hope you were able to sleep in a little today.

Lately, the week flies by at a rapid clip but has been brutal in many different ways.

In my neck of the Eastern shore, we have seen a wide range of temperatures as of late–from multiple snow days to sixty degrees and sunny and now a tad rainy. Good for gardens, terrible for walking.

It’s quiet at my place, so come on over for a cup of dark (or light) roast with your choice of French Vanilla, Creme Brulee or York Peppermint flavored cream. I’ve got Vivaldi on in the background so I can hear the birds by the feeder. It’s moments like these where a slice of heaven can be found–don’t you agree?

Now, I know that a week is longer than two days, but judging by this past Thursday and Friday-I’m beginning to wonder. I was pushed to a near breaking point in my professional life recently, dear Readers. Normally not one to raise my voice in a classroom of students, I found myself doing just that.

I felt like I couldn’t manage the students, follow the teacher’s instructions to the letter or get their work returned by the end of class. I haven’t felt this helpless in a long time, but here I was doing just that. I felt dependent on administration to help manage my classroom and to remove a few students who chose to be destructive.

My independence and creativity had failed to show up to class, or even call ahead of time warning me of their absence.

I am happy to announce that I did finish the two days and take my leave with my sanity and mental health still intact. I earned the much-needed money and left the classroom on Friday organized and clean!

 

But enough about me 🙂 How was your week? Tell me all about it–even the gory parts.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Happy Pi Day!

    1. It was much needed! This next week I am in a grade school with the same 4th and 5th grade classes for the entire week. I’m hoping that this week will go smoother.
      I hope your weekend treated you well. Enjoy your Sunday.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I think that the most difficult thing about substitute teaching is just what you came up against this week…the students that make it impossible for you to maintain the learning experience for the rest of the class. It makes you dependent on the administration or you end up not accomplishing what you are supposed to.

    I have horror stories about my first few times out subbing. But it got better and my district was small enough so that my work got to be known fairly soon and I became a requested sub so often that I rarely had to take classes that hadn’t seen me before.

    Hoping your weather decides what it’s going to do soon! See you next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My sympathies for your difficult end-of-week. I remember how unfair it could seem to me to be cooped up in a classroom when the weather began to warm…and I LOVED school. Must be all the harder for those who don’t enjoy that form of learning, and are still required to attend even when everything in their souls is yearning to be outside, breathing free air…

    Here, the unschoolers-in-residence began the week with full-moon fever – which means they were nocturnal. My Accomplice and I had a mild disagreement about nothing much, because we were both tired and cranky, and it was pleasant when it was aired out and resolved happily.

    Our Force of Nature, age ten, has grown a quarter inch in the last two weeks – and I have to look up at her brother, the Newish Teen. Since they’re still shifting out of the nocturnal phase, I’ve had a few hours of quiet every day while they sleep. I’ve done a good deal of hometending, which settles me, and a good deal of writing stuff, which feeds my soul.

    Midweek, NT walked the nearly three miles to a local convenience store-ice cream shop. FoN and I went to pick him up and we had a treat together. I suggested we could attend Raptor Fest at the end of the month, but, having recently traveled cross-continentally for our Oregon vacation, the kids weren’t overly enthused by the idea.

    Today, NT and FoN went down the road to visit their grandparents for an hour or so, and my Accomplice and I had a pleasant conversation over coffee, brainstorming plans for some upcoming major changes in our lives. Then he went to pick up two tired offspring, and off to work once they were home.

    FoN has gone to bed, and NT is in his room, recording a YouTube show with an unschooling friend who lives a state away. It’s the quiet time again, and I’m hometending and making some blog visits. In a little while, I’ll be blogging, revising a Trip and T’Pol story and planning my (non-Trek) CampNaNo projects.

    May your next week be lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you survived and came out on top! Some days I struggled with our five kids at home, I cannot fathom trying to reign in a classroom full of other peoples kids. My hat is off to you!
    I learned one important lesson this week… Never settle in with pizza for dinner and attempt to watch the show Bones at the same time! I’ll leave that right there and spare you the gory details!
    Thanks for the coffee

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

