Welcome to the weekend my friends!  Hope this week treated you as humanely as possible. If it didn’t behave, no worries–just send them to my office and I will set them straight 🙂

If you are new to the Weekend Coffee Share,  grab a cup of my best freshly-ground roast or perhaps some tea and leave your cares outside in the March weather for a moment. If you would like to join in, go say hi to our phenomenal host, Part-time Monster, to link up. I’m thrilled you are here!

 

If we were having coffee, I would have some freshly baked muffins for you to go along with a beverage of your choice. It’s been a crazy week here on the Eastern Shore. We finally were hit with a doozie of a winter storm that dumped at least eight inches of snow on us! I’m a recent transplant from the Midwest–pretty sure the ice and snow followed me all the way to Maryland 🙂

I’ve only been able to work one day this week as the school district I work for keeps cancelling classes on account of the contrary March weather. I did work on Thursday for a high school near the base as a substitute band teacher. I forgot how much fun hanging out with band students.

The classroom structure is very laid-back and the students pretty much motivate themselves. Many played the clarinet (I played the clarinet from fifth grade to senior year–ahh the memories!), saxophone or drums. Near the end of the day, we watched taped marching band competitions on YouTube. They were pretty darn impressive!

Will you like for me to top off your cup or another muffin? I’ve got plenty of food and coffee to go around 🙂

This past Tuesday, my boyfriend woke with a sharp continuous pain on his right side. I was supposed to work that day, but couldn’t get a hold of Human Resources or the school to cancel the job–until we were actually loaded into the ambulance and headed towards the Emergency Room. I was so worried about him–the pain had increased during the ride to the hospital.

By the time we got there, we was bent over and actively sweating from all the pain. After some time (and an IV for medication and fluids), the doctor came in to tell us that he had a kidney stone that was giving him all this trouble. It’s been a few days now and he is feeling somewhat better–but what an experience! It was difficult to see him in such deep pain–but we made it through the ordeal intact 🙂

That about sums up my week. How was yours? Were you snow (or ice) bound this week? If so, what did you do to keep your sanity intact?

 

Thank you for visiting me, my friend 🙂 Have an inspired weekend!

 

5 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…

  1. Kidney stones are horrible. I’ve lived through a number of very painful experiences and I still believe that kidney stones are the most painful thing I have experienced…far worse than labor. He’s lucky he had you nearby. I was home, alone, with no medical insurance and no one to take me anyplace even if I had had insurance. I suffered alone for hours and hours, curled up on the floor in the bathroom until it passed.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

