Good morning! I hope everyone made it through this past week in one piece (or at least a couple?) Take a quick break with me, relax and have a cup of coffee with me 🙂

If we were having coffee together, I would suggest a little cafe just a few minutes away in Annapolis. It’s a book lover’s dream, quiet and lots of room to hide away from the cold entrance. I think today calls for a cup of Pumpkin Spice for me. What would you like?

This week has been very busy for me. I’ve been working as a substitute teacher in the district for almost two months now–I can honestly say I am liking it but boy the kids tire me right out! I am also starting to notice some real differences between being a paraprofessional and a substitute teacher.

I was a para for six years in a few districts in ND–a certified teacher was always in the room with me as well as other paras within arm’s reach. Not so much as a substitute teacher. By law, I qualify to be a substitute teacher as long as I have a bachelor degree in (fill in the blank). A person does not need to be certified as an educator in order to be a substitute teacher.

I am now often alone in a classroom surrounded by students who I do not know, and who don’t know me. I’ve found a river of patience and a greater appreciation for the substitutes from my own school days.

Another big difference between North Dakota and Maryland culture has to do with student tolerance for differences–yes, I am talking about cultural background and race. This is a new issue for me to have to address in my classrooms. Growing up, I never noticed cultural intolerance. Of course, my community was mostly made up of Caucasian Norwegian sugar beet farmers. Every family knew the business of their neighbors–that’s just how it was.

I have quite a bit of adjusting to do, but I am up for the challenges ahead. I’ve never been happier in my life than I am right now.

 

If we were having coffee, I’d have to tell you about the direction my writing has been going lately. I am still maintaining my blog which gives me motivation to write every morning. For now, I’ve moved on from writing contests to building community with other writers in the “blogosphere.” I have found many kindred souls out there lately that have been so supportive and give me strength to keep sharing my voice and keep my heart pinned right to my shoulder. Thank you to everyone who has not only supported me through “likes” and “comments” but through reading their own amazing words.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I just did (another) major overhaul of my blog by condensing many of my categories into five main ones. I have joined a few blog hops:

Redefining Disability–currently running

A to Z Blog Challenge–starting in April

NaBloPoMo–starting March 2nd

Weekend Coffee Share–happening as we speak!

 

But enough about me 🙂 I hope your week was tolerable if not beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing a cup of coffee with me.

Here’s to the end of February and beginning of March!

6 thoughts on “Will You Join Me in a Cup of Coffee?

  1. I think one of the most difficult things to deal with in a classroom is intolerance of other cultures and ethnic groups. Sometimes you don’t even see it because it’s so subtle but then there are some places where you are smacked in the face with it everywhere you go. It’s really tough to deal with in the classroom because then they go home and get another dose of it from their family (usually these attitudes come from home) and the next day you have to deal with it all over again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice of you to invite, though I would not have you suffer through what so ever I caught last week. Still having away. Being in a place where jobs are scarse and businesses are closing right and left, It is nice to read what people elsewhere are doing with their lives. Yes, I made it though. currently baking swordfish with rice and blood oranges for lunch (a wee late getting started, but it works). Hope you are all well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting! Glad that you’re joining the A to Z Challenge.

    And I’d been wondering what exactly a paraprofessional teacher did, as I ran across one earlier in the week but didn’t get a chance to ask, so yay, learning new things! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

