Welcome to Monday again, Dear Reader! The weather has been acting quite winterish and cold lately, so many days have been spent writing and reading everything I can get my hands on.

Schools in the district have been starting two hours late for the last week which means the school day should feel shorter–but they don’t somehow 🙂

If you are new to my blog, welcome! As my grandmother would often say, “Take off your coat and stay awhile.” Grab a cup of coffee and a chocolate donut (or two) and take a load off 🙂 I’m happy you are here.

Today marks week three for my journey through “Redefining Disability” blog challenge. If you are not familiar with the challenge, it goes something like this:

  • The Redefining Disability Awareness Challenge is part of a  an interactive blogging project I developed in order to promote better representation for people with disabilities in the media.
  • While other parts of the series focus on media representation story creation, this challenge is a chance for people to share their personal experiences.
  •  All of the questions relate to your experiences with disabilities:  whether you  or have a loved one have a disability or work in a disability related field.

If you would like to join us, check out Rose B. Fischer’s blog for additional information and the challenge questions.

Now, onto the Feature Presentation:

What have your experiences been with medical treatment and/or therapy been like? 

The idea of therapy and medication is a new and foreign experience for me. I had tried a few different medications for depression and anxiety, such as Effexor and Lexapro.

However, the side effects proved to be very painful and not worth the cost of taking the medications in the hope that they would give me some relief.

While I was on these medications, I would suffer what are called “brain zaps” which can only be described as if you were to take  live electrical prongs to your head. It felt like an electric storm was raging inside my head and they often lead to random, frequent anxiety attacks.

For that occasion, I was prescribed Klonopin to counteract the effects of my depression medications. In other words, after the electric storm I would become very fatigued and still couldn’t function because I was asleep.

They were not taken at the same time; rather one would cause me severe anxiety so I would be weaned off one and placed on another. I felt like a human guinea pig–or that bat on Ferngully.

I wasn’t getting any better, so in frustration I went off depression and anxiety medications completely.
It wasn’t until a few months ago that I found a doctor near me and decided to start the search for effective medication again.

Fortunately, my doctor is very responsive and evaluated my symptoms and started me on medication that wouldn’t cause the nefarious “brain zaps.”

One thought on “Redefining Disability Challenge Day 3

Talk to Me!

