The longer I am part of this kick-a$$ blogging community, the more I want to participate in different events. I’ve always enjoyed learning about different perspectives and meeting new people, and I am learning quickly that the possibilities are endless as a blogger 🙂

Today, I would like to share a leisurely cup of Verona dark coffee (freshly ground of course) with you exactly ONE week before the end of February. Come join me for a moment for #Weekend Coffee Share 🙂

Take a seat and listen to a little Coldplay with me while we talk about our week. I treasure mornings the most because it is so quiet–the rest of the house stays up later than I do so while they sleep in, I wake up early to write and blog. I hope this moment is quiet, or at least relaxing for you.

I’ve been working on a few things when not working as a substitute teacher for the Anne Arundel District in Maryland.

I picked up the writing habit back in November via “Write Yourself Alive Challenge” that just kept going past last August. At first I just wrote and bled about my past–all the pent up feelings and memories. Then came NaNoWriMo and I completed my first (not so crappy) rough first draft, followed by joining Scribophile then WordPress Blogging University. And here I am!

I also participate in numerous flash fiction challenges during the week which are an amazing way to produce lots of new material 🙂 I haven’t won many, but that’s quite alright. I really enjoy the challenges themselves and when I produce something, I feel happy because I created it.

This past week, the brutally cold weather has caused the school district to start school two hours later than normal. We are hoping that spring will be here soon.

As a recent replant from the Midwest to Maryland, I have observed so many different cultures and perspectives that are foreign to me. I grew up in a small town and in a private school where most of the population were upper middle class, Norweigian sugar beet farmers.

Everything is so different here: people act different towards one another, accents are strange (to me), and culture is very diverse. I work primarily on a military base called Fort Meade where I am the minority and there are so many more students than what I saw in my tiny town. It is a lot to take in, but I am up for the challenge.

Well, I don’t know about you but I need another cup of coffee and some egg-in-a-hole. I really enjoyed sitting down with you for a bit. egghole

How was your week? Anything out of the ordinary happen? Feel free to talk to me 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “#Weekend Coffee Share

  1. I’m going to have to try egg in a hole. Looks great and just the right size portion of egg and toast for me.

    I really want to get back to writing. Right now I just write my blog posts. In November each year (since 2006) I participate in NaNoWriMo. I have 8 first drafts written but have never gone back to rewrite any of them. At least three of them are near enough that I could finish them with a month or so of work on each but do I do it? Nope. I am, however, a top notch procrastinator! I’ve got that prize hands down! I really want to work on at least one of them this year and get it finished before NaNoWriMo rolls around again. I miss writing and I miss teaching. I taught in the classroom but what I really miss is teaching teachers. I used to do staff development teaching teachers new strategies for teaching writing. I really miss that!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Nope. I haven’t tried anything in a long, long time. I’ve been kind of down. Stopped blogging for a year and a half but just got started again in October. I’ll check it out.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I learned it from my grandmother: You butter both sides of the piece of bread, cut a hole out of the middle and put it aside, put the holey bread in a heated frying pan, crack egg and add it to the hole, toast on both sides and voila!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you stopped by for coffee!

    I know what you mean about constantly finding things you want to participate it. My blog is maxed out on weekly features right now, really, but I keep seeing such fantastic ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still trying to find my theme and format. It has moved around a lot. Right now I participate in quite a few flash fiction contests which bring some traffic in. I just haven’t figured out what else I should feature on my blog beyond my submissions lol

      Like

Talk to Me!

