Disclaimer: I decided to do a two-for-one for my prompts today as Ms. Mi-Grayne was visiting yesterday and I didn’t want to seem rude. This morning I woke up in a brain fog but decided to persevere and write anyway. I spent ten minutes on each prompt, the result is this:

“Two Right Feet” Prompt:

What are the things you need to do within 30 minutes of waking up to ensure your day gets off on the right foot? What happened the last time you didn’t do one of these things?

I follow the same schedule almost to a “T” every morning: I open my eyes to find Spazz The Cat lounging next to me in a tight ball. I reach for my phone to scan the morning’s emails so I can start figuring out what needs to be accomplished today. If I hadn’t slept well the night before, I don’t want to get up but I end up getting out of bed because I don’t want to waste too much time before the rest of the house is up. I make my way over to the computer and “wake” it back up. Next on the list is at least three writing prompts to be done at ten minutes a piece. For some reason, the completion of this task makes me feel like I am going to have a productive day. The rest of the day usually flows from there. I take a break from my projects around noon to make coffee and clean up the kitchen from the night before.

However, I have days where nothing gets accomplished which automatically makes me feel irritated as if I’d woken up on the wrong side of the bed or someone had spit in my coffee as my grandfather would say. Then I’d feel as if the entire day would be a waste. Just yesterday I woke up with a migraine that prevented me from accomplishing anything (at least in my humble opinion). I was barely able to sit at my desk, much less write a thousand words in my journal. I ended up in bed for most of the day cuddling Spaz and trying to sleep. I couldn’t help but ponder all the things that I could be doing if not for the stupid migraine. No Code Academy for me…nor reading much of anything..couldn’t work on anything. I finally settled for a documentary on Nabokov which calmed me a little.

“Moment in Time” Prompt

the hike

What was the last picture you took? Tell us the story behind it. (No story behind the photo? Make one up, or choose the last picture you took that had one.)

We decided to hike one of the trails on the Appalachian Trail. Now, I’m a plains (aka flat ground) girl so this was going to be a challenge for me…but I was ready to accept it! I don’t know what to call it, but something about hiking in the woods has always appealed to me. It brings out the little curious over-excited kid in me. So here we were…lots of woods to explore. We mapped the trail we would take and we were off! Except we made a few wrong turns at important points in order to stay on our short circuitous route as opposed to the 20 mile hikes that were available to us just a few wrong turns away. Now, I may have mentioned I am a little directionally-challenged…but did I mention that I was stubborn as well? I was completely sure, I told my boyfriend, which direction we should take for our designated romp through the woods. Turns out I was wrong..who knew? We ended up on a professional hiker’s trial…this means that the trail included many boulders, narrow trails and about eight miles of walking pleasure. In this picture, we had decided to stop our arguments long enough to snap a picture and send it to our families so they knew we were still alive and breathing. By this time, we were not only tired and sweating, but without water or food. But, it was still daylight. I remember being so mad at him and he at me that for a good hour or two I hiked on ahead taking my anger out on the rough trail running down boulder steps and just missing large branches that rose out of the trail on periodically. But soon we began running out of phone battery and we were still a good ways off. We only knew this because out of curiosity or spite we used GPS to find out how much longer we were going to be stuck with each other. It was still quite a ways.

A Moment in Time

Two Right Feet

3 thoughts on “(A Couple) Daily Prompt(s): “Two Right Feet” and “Moment in Time”

Talk to Me!

